Frank Gehry 1994 Recipient

Posted on

Frank O. Gehry is a Canadian American architect and designer and the Founder of Gehry Partners.  His innovative use of materials and the sculptural quality of his work won him worldwide renown and reshaped the way we think about architecture.

Gehry graduated with a degree in Architecture from the University of Southern California and was admitted to Harvard Graduate School of Design to Study Urban Planning. He returned in LA and began his own firm in 1963. His early work had an unfinished quality that was described by Paul Goldberger of the New York Times as “vastly more intelligent and controlled than it sounds to the uninitiated; he is an architect of immense gifts who dances on the line separating architecture from art but who manages never to let himself fall.” His talent earned him commissions the world over throughout the 1980s and ’90s. Notable structures from his early career include include the Vitra Furniture Museum and Factory (1987) in Weil am Rhein, Germany; the American Center (1988–94) in Paris; and the Frederick R. Weisman Art Museum (1990–93) at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

Gehry’s reputation continued to grow in the late 1990s and he became known for creating buildings that resemble billowing sculpture. This form reached its pinnacle with his Guggenheim Museum (1991–97) in Bilbao, Spain. Other notable works from this period include, Experience Music Project (1995–2000), the Art Museum of Ontario, The Walt Disney Concert Hall (completed 2003), the Jay Pritzker Pavilion in Chicago’s Millennium Park (completed 2004), and New World Center (completed 2011).

Gehry’s work is credited with created a renewed interest in architecture in America. Among Gehry’s many awards are the Pritzker Architecture Prize (1989), the National Medal of the Arts (1998), and the American Institute of Architects Gold Medal (1999).

Selection Committee

Arthur Penn – Arthur Penn was an American director and producer of film, television and theater. He directed critically acclaimed films throughout the 1960s such as the drama The Chase (1966), the biographical crime film Bonnie and Clyde (1967) and the comedy Alice’s Restaurant (1969).

Later in his career he worked in stage and television direction and production, including an executive producer role for the crime series Law & Order. Penn received a Tony Award for his stage version of The Miracle Worker and two Sylvania Awards.

Carol Burnett – Carol Burnett is an American actress, comedian, singer, and writer, whose career spans six decades of television. She is best known for her long-running TV variety show, The Carol Burnett Show, for CBS. She has achieved success on stage, television, and film in varying genres including dramatic and comedy roles. She also has appeared on various talk shows and as a panelist on game shows.

Burnett has been awarded numerous Emmy and Golden Globe awards and received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2005.

Hugh Hardy – Hugh Hardy is Founding Partner of H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture. Hardy has built and reshaped America’s cultural landscape through architecture. His celebrated projects include, the restoration of Radio City Music Hall, the revitalization of Bryant Park, renovation of the National Baseball Hall of Fame, and multiple projects for the Brooklyn Academy of Music and Lincoln Center Theater, among many others.

Hardy’s recent awards include, the Commissioner’s Award for Excellence in Public Architecture by the United States General Services Administration, Placemark Award from the Design History Foundation, President’s Award from the Architectural League of New York, and the Distinguished Achievement Award in Theatre Design by the US Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.

Roddy McDowall – Roderick Andrew Anthony Jude “Roddy” McDowall was an English-American actor, film director, photographer, and voice artist. His roles included Cornelius, Caesar, and Galen in the Planet of the Apes film and television series. He began his acting career as a child in England, and then in the United States, in How Green Was My Valley, My Friend Flicka, and Lassie Come Home, and as an adult appeared most frequently as a character actor on radio, stage, film, and television.

He served in several positions on the Board of Governors for the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences and the Selection Committee for the Kennedy Center Honors, as well as contributing to various charities related to the film industry and film preservation.

John T. Williams – John T. Williams is one of the most popular and successful American orchestral composers of the modern age. Best known for his film scores and ceremonial music, he composed the music and served as music director for films, including, JawsE.T.: The Extra-TerrestrialSchindler’s List, the Indiana Jones series, and the original Star Wars trilogy.

Williams is the winner of five Academy Awards, 17 Grammys, three Golden Globes, two Emmys and five BAFTA Awards from the British Academy of Film and Television Arts. He has also been awarded several gold and platinum records, and was honored as Maestro of the Year by the National Association of Theater Owners. On June 23, 2000, he became the first inductee into the Hollywood Bowl Hall of Fame.